Journey to Africa: Planning

screenshot-2017-01-09-at-7-14-38-pm
From Phoenix to Accra to Nairobi to Johannesburg and back again: ~21,000 miles

I’m jittery with anticipation and a little bit of anxiety as I think about our trip tomorrow. I’m excited to visit a continent that I’ve never been to before, see old friends and make new ones, and be immersed in a variety of different cultures. I feel so fortunate to be able to have traveled so much in my life and can’t wait to experience as much of Ghana, Kenya and South Africa as possible.

Number of: 

  • Days I’ll be away from home: 16 (the 10th – 26th)
  • Hours the entire trip that I’ll be in the air: 46
  • Partners/employers we’ll be seeing: 9 (so far)
  • Countries I’ll visit: Three – Accra, Ghana; Nairobi, Kenya; Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Bags I’ve packed: Three – one checked bag filled with clothes and things I’d be ok with losing; my trusty REI travel backpack/carry-on that’s filled with all the clothes I’d hate to lose; and, my new Patagonia messenger bag stuffed to the brim with the essentials
  • Books I’m bringing along: Three actual copies (apparently this is my number) + my trusty Kindle loaded up with five books from the library
  • Medicines I’ve brought along with me: at least 8 different kinds. I have been sick on every long term vacation I’ve ever taken, regardless of the climate (I got a chest cold in Argentina, the Philippines and Florida during the summer). I usually truck through it with a mix of rest, available medicine and sheer will – but it doesn’t hurt to be prepared.
  • Pictures I plan on taking: as many as my iPhone can hold

Expected highlights: 

  • Visiting two of our former interns while we’re in Accra
  • Touring around two of our tertiary partner schools
  • Visiting two of our Secondary partners
  • Talking with MCF Scholars about their experiences
  • Visiting the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust Elephant Orphanage in Nairobi and seeing the orphaned elephant that I fostered who was found STANDING VIGIL BY HER DYING MOTHER

  • Staying in this tented Safari camp for one night in Pilanesberg National Park in Johannesburg

My hope is to write every single day that we’re there, even if it was a relatively uneventful day. I’m not sure when I’ll ever be able to go back to Africa, so I want to make sure to make the most of it and remember as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

